The Blackwood Cardigan by Helen’s Closet – a perfect layering piece! #MCBN

Sew Sarah smith

Hi again!

Long term readers of this ol’ blog may well remember me waxing lyrical about my experience sewing the first garment pattern out of Helen’s Closet, the Winslow Culottes. Well Helen’s only gone and done it again with this, the Blackwood Cardigan – it’s such an incredibly wearable, transitional, piece of clothing!

I made mine out of a gorgeously soft, classic houndstooth Ponte sent to me by Minerva Crafts; if you want to read about its construction, see more pics and find the links to this high quality fabric and all the other products I used, head over to my Minerva Crafts Blogger Network post (click HERE) – it’s basically an ‘Ode to the Sleeve’! I have washed and worn this Cardigan non stop since I made it!

There will be many, many more of these appearing in my wardrobe. I really want a burgundy one like the one Helen’s wearing above and a lightweight ribbed grey one, probably a black one too…mmm, I reckon, to be on the safe side, I’ll need a cream as well…

Anyhoo, moving on from my reverie, and not forgetting that Helen is also one of the #sewtogetherforsummer Sponsors, let me remind you that she is kindly offering a fortunate #sewtogetherforsummer 2017 participant a free copy of the Blackwood pattern! I can’t wait to see what she designs next!

Until next time, (when I’ll hopefully surface with a well fitting pair of Pedal Pushers or a new and improved McCalls M6696 Shirtdress).

Thanks for reading!

Sew Sarah smith

Liked this post? Links to ‘Follow‘ can be found under the Comments section below! 😉😘

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I have been looking for a great cardigan pattern for a while now… well off and on… because I’m always looking for a great pattern and I keep losing track of what I’m looking for… but gosh this is a nice pattern! Love your fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh this made me laugh out loud!!!! I’m exactly the same! (Honestly, spreadsheets are the answer!) thank you!!! Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna-Jo says:

    Love that fabric! I think I might need to get some too…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thanks Anna-Jo x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great classic piece. Looking forward to the other versions of the blackwood cardigan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s a good job they don’t take much time to sew as I want another …. 5, maybe!! Xxx

      Like

  4. Love it! I’ll be adding this pattern to my wish list. Love the houndstooth too x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love houndstooth too! Such a quick satisfying sew! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

