Papercut Patterns wrap top

Coppelia Wrap Cardi by Papercut Patterns : a dream of a top!

Papercut Patterns wrap top

Hi again!

Hot on the heels of my Classic Pedal Pushers post, I bring you the Coppelia Wrap Cardi from Papercut Patterns; I just think they pair so well! (And are unbelievably comfy; it’s like wearing a sophisticated pair of PJ’s!)

Coppelia review
Papercut Patterns – Coppelia Wrap Cardi

I love this ballet style wrap top; it’s such a perennial staple. I chose it as one of my #2017MakeNine picks, as were the Pedal Pushers too, so I’m really pleased to get them both checked off. This top is such an easy sew; I can see myself returning to this pattern time and time again!

HOWEVER, that said, I will draw your attention to one point of the pattern instructions that I think are potentially misleading to the point of disaster and that relates to the attaching of the neckband. This pattern has two views, one being this wrap cardi and the other is a faux wrap sweater top. At Point 4 in the instructions you attach the folded neckband, raw sides together, to the cardi body. The instructions state “…depending on the stretch of your fabric, you may have left over band at the end, if so, trim off…”. The graphic here and elsewhere is not particularly helpful. You would trim the band end differently depending on which view you are making!

Essentially, if you are making the wrap cardi version of this patter, you need to ensure that you trim your neckband edge in the correct direction…otherwise it will never attach flush to the hemband at a later stage (allowing you to enclose it’s open raw edges within the waistband seam). I’ve done a wee drawing below which I hope illustrates the point I’m trying to make:

For the wrap cardi then, you need to trim the neckband horizontally so that it’s edge lines up with the hem of the bodice – see the bottom diagram. If you were making the sweater version you would trim the neckband vertically (ie the top pic) so that it will align flush with the side seam. I hope I’ve made that make sense!

For more generalised info, links to all the products I used, including this gorgeous spandex blend John Kaldor jersey, and a paper copy the pattern itself etc., can be found in the full post I wrote for the Minerva Craft Blogger Network HERE together with a review of the pattern and a few tips I used for working with such fluid, highly stretchy fabric.

Coppelia Papercut

IMG_7247

 

***

NB – I’ve also written a review of the Machine Stars range of children’s starter sewing patterns with my daughter, which is up now on the Minerva Crafts blog   – if you have a little one interested in sewing, you can read the product review HERE.

Until next time,

Sew Sarah smith

 

Liked this post? Links to Follow this Blog can be found under the Comments section below. You can Follow me on Instagram here x

12 thoughts on “Coppelia Wrap Cardi by Papercut Patterns : a dream of a top!”

  1. Ah that’s the trouble with knit projects isn’t it, the outcome varies so wildly from make to make depending on the fabric used! I’m sure your next one will be perfect, it’s such a lovely sew isn’t it. Xx

    Like

  2. I’ve come across quite a few coppelias recently which all look much better than the one I made! I’ve noticed that everyone has used a stretcher fabric than I did so at least I know where I went wrong. Love your version 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so strange you should post this because I’ve literally just been looking at this pattern after someone on Instagram though a rtw cardigan of mine looked like this pattern. I’d love to replicate it, as it’s my favourite cardigan so I was really considering it and now I think I’m sold! It’s exactly as I hoped it would look! Thanks, great post.x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I made this a couple of years ago. It is a staple of my winter wardrobe. Next one I make should be white. So pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment